Luna currently offers two channels/subscription services. For $5.99, you get the Luna+ channel. For $14.99, you’ll also get the Ubisoft channel. The Luna+ subscription is fully streamed, whereas Ubisoft also offers game downloads to PCs via the Ubisoft Connect app. The UI is sleek and intuitive. You’ll see games listed in both the Luna+ and Ubisoft channels. You can search for titles by scrolling through them or via the search bar. Any games you play instantly get added to your library. You’ll find a number of options in the Luna app settings. This includes controller pairing, parental controls, account linking (to Ubisoft and Twitch), along with audio and video quality. Right now, you can only stream games at 1080p resolution at 60 frames per second with max data usage at 10GB/hour.  I tested games on both Luna’s PC app and on Google Chrome. Whether it was The Division 2, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, or Sonic Mania, everything ran and looked great.  If you told me I was playing games directly off Ubisoft or Steam, I would have believed you. I was most impressed with The Division 2, which requires pinpoint accuracy during intense shootouts. If there was any input lag, I didn’t notice it. The game felt as tight and responsive on Luna as it does on my PlayStation 4.  I should add that I have Verizon Fios and my PC is hooked into my router via an Ethernet cable. My connection situation is about as optimal as you can get but your results may vary with a Wi-Fi connection or if you live somewhere with spotty reception. Barring occasional dips in video quality, your Luna experience will be no different than playing downloaded games on your console or PC. Although entirely optional, Luna’s $49.99 controller is a great peripheral for the service. Resembling Nintendo’s Pro controller, the Luna controller is light and sturdy. Textured grips keep it from slipping from your hands while its concave analog sticks provide the same support for your thumbs.  Luna+ games range from short indies to massive AAA titles. This includes Control, Sonic Mania, Grid, Metro Exodus, Yooka-Laylee, and more. Over on the Ubisoft channel, you’ll find many of the publisher’s biggest franchises, like Assassin’s Creed, Far Cry, Ghost Recon, Watch Dogs, and The Division.

Bottom line

Amazon Luna review - 81